Observatory Open for Tours on Georgian Day


The Armagh Observatory will be opening its doors to the public on Saturday, 24th November as part of the Armagh Georgian Day celebrations organized by the Armagh City and District Council. Two free guided tours of the main Observatory building, featuring a small exhibition, the Human Orrery and the Astropark will be given at 11:30 and 14:00.

As well as wandering around the street market stalls, why not spend an hour or so visiting the venerable Armagh Observatory, a Grade A listed building built around 1789, where, for example, the wind-gauge, the world famous Robinson Cup-anemometer, was invented in the 1840s by the Observatory’s third director, the Revd Dr Thomas Romney Robinson. The Observatory is a unique Georgian mansion and on the tour you can learn something of its history and current research endeavours.

Access to the Observatory is from College Hill by the road leading off the northeast corner of the Mall, close to the Courthouse and opposite the Royal Irish Fusiliers Museum. Those who wish to join the tours should telephone or send an e-mail to Ms Phyllis McCabe, Tourist Information Centre (currently based at The Market Place Theatre, Market Place, Armagh); Tel: 028-3752-1800; E-mail: ticat signarmagh.gov.uk.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION PLEASE CONTACT: John McFarland at the Armagh Observatory, College Hill, Armagh, BT61 9DG. Tel.: 028-3752-2928; FAX: 028-3752-7174; jmfat signarm.ac.uk.

Link: Virtual Visit to the Observatory

View Armagh Observatory in a larger map

Last Revised: 2012 November 14th